Microsoft are beginning the roll out of Clutter to Office 365 business customers, which brings the power of Office Graph to your inbox. Clutter is designed to help you focus on the most important messages in your inbox. It uses machine learning to de-clutter your inbox by moving lower priority messages out of your way and into a new Clutter folder. Ultimately, Clutter removes distractions so you can focus on what matters most.
The Clutter experience
Take a look at this video to learn how Clutter helps you keep focused on the most important items in your inbox.
How Clutter works
Clutter learns from your actions to determine the messages you are likely to ignore. As less important messages arrive, they are automatically moved to the Clutter folder. Clutter does this by leveraging Office Graph’s sophisticated machine learning techniques to determine which messages are Clutter. It gets smarter over time, learning from your prior actions with similar messages, and assessing things like the type of content and even how you are addressed in the message. The Clutter experience is personalized to each individual and reflects an email experience that adapts to your actions and preferences without you having to do anything. The information Clutter learns from each user’s actions are only applied to that user’s experience and are not shared with anyone else.
Getting started with Clutter
By default, Clutter is disabled for your inbox. Each person controls whether to turn Clutter on or off. You control Clutter from the Outlook Web App (OWA) options menu. You can turn it on as soon as Clutter is available for your Office 365 tenant. Clutter begins taking actions once it has sufficiently learned your work style and can confidently begin working for you. If you later find Clutter isn’t for you, it can be turned off any time.
Clutter is best suited and most effective for those of us who tend to pile up messages in our inboxes. Clutter respects your existing email rules, so if you have created rules to organize your email those rules continue to be applied and Clutter won’t act on those messages.
Working with Clutter
The less important messages are simply moved to the Clutter folder. They remain out of your way until you have time to review the items—if you choose to. You can proactively train Clutter by marking items as Clutter or simply move the items to the Clutter folder. If you find items in your Clutter folder that shouldn’t be there, train Clutter by moving the message back to your inbox. Clutter continuously learns and will adapt to your new patterns within days when you begin working on new projects or a new role. As you work with Clutter it will notify you of its activity in your inbox, this is Clutter helping you keep in control of your messages
The Clutter folder allows you to take advantage of the feature across many email clients including Outlook, OWA, OWA for devices, or EAS connected devices. Clutter continuously learns from your actions across these clients. Regardless of the client, the messages moved to the Clutter folder are out of your inbox view—yet readily accessible.
Frequently asked questions
Q. When will the Clutter feature be available in my Office 365 environment?
A. Customers who have opted into First Release will begin seeing the Clutter feature today. We are first rolling out the feature to those using the English locale, other languages will follow as localization is complete. Deployment to standard deployment tenants is targeted to begin later this month.
Q. I turned Clutter on but nothing happened?
A. Clutter is still learning so that it can provide strong predictions and will only begin taking actions once it has a learned your work style. You can expedite Clutter’s learning by moving messages into the Clutter folder to help train it. The more you move, the faster it will learn.
Q. Can I disable Clutter after I have turned it on?
A. Yes, you can turn Clutter off. It can be turned off from the OWA options page. If turned off existing items in the Clutter folder will remain in the Clutter folder.
Q. How to train Clutter that items are or aren’t Clutter?
A. The easiest way to train Clutter is by simply completing your work. You can explicitly train Clutter by moving items to or from the Clutter folder. In OWA, Clutter-specific actions are available as a right-click commands to mark items as Clutter or not Clutter.
Q. Are clutter items automatically deleted after a specified time period?
A. The Clutter folder does not apply a specific clean-up action. The default policy for a new folder is applied to the Clutter folder at time of creation, and can later be changed. Users in OWA are provided Clutter specific quick clean-up tools to expedite the deletion of the Clutter messages.
Q. Does Clutter work in Outlook desktop clients?
A. Yes. Once turned on by the user, the Clutter folder is available in Outlook and is automatically added in your folder Favorites. In Outlook, users interact with Clutter by moving items to/from the Clutter folder, which trains Clutter for your inbox. You must use the OWA options menu to turn Clutter on or off.